Matching organs. Saving lives.


Work group to address OPTN policy relating to HIV-positive organ recovery

Fifteen organ donation and transplantation clinicians and professionals have been named to an OPTN work group to consider  policies that would need to be developed or revised to allow recovery of organs from HIV-positive donors.  A key aspect in policy consideration is ensuring that HIV status would be properly identified at all stages of donation and transplantation.

The work group is being convened in accordance with recent federal passage of the HIV Organ Policy Equity Act, also known as the HOPE Act.  The Act calls for the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) to develop and publish criteria for the conduct of research relating to the potential transplantation of organs from donors known to be HIV-positive to recipients who are HIV-positive.  The law also requires the OPTN to revise its standards of quality for the acquisition and transportation of HIV-positive organs to the extent determined necessary to allow conduct of research.  

Read entire article on the OPTN website.

Work group members

Richard Pietroski, M.S., CPTC (co-chair), chief executive officer of Gift of Life Michigan
Daniel Kaul, M.D. (co-chair), director of the transplant infectious diseases service at the University of Michigan Medical Center
Laura Butler, FNP-BC, transplant quality manager at Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Theresa Daly, M.S., RN, FNP, director of clinical operations at New York Presbyterian/Columbia
Jean Davis, RN, executive vice president of organ procurement organization services at LifeLink Foundation
Danyel Gooch, RN, CCTC, lung transplant coordinator at Indiana University Health
Michael Green, M.D., M.P.H., professor of pediatrics and surgery at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine
Monica Johnson-Tomanka, RN, M.S., executive director of Sierra Donor Services
Jennifer Prinz, RN, B.S.N., M.P.H., chief operating officer of Donor Alliance   
Timothy Pruett, M.D., clinical chair of transplantation at the University of Minnesota Medical Center
Costi Sifri, M.D., associate professor of medicine at the University of Virginia School of Medicine
Peter Stock, M.D., Ph.D., director of the pancreas transplant program at UC San Francisco Medical Center
Lisa Stocks, FNP, RN, executive director of Lifesharing
Sean Van Slyck, M.P.A./H.S.A, CPTC, organ program director at California Transplant Donor Network
Cameron Wolfe, M.D., attending faculty in transplant infectious disease at Duke University Medical Center
Staff of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration, Division of Transplantation, also serve as ex officio, nonvoting members of the committee.

Share This